James White of Alpha and Omega Ministries

James White is one of the main reasons I put this blog up. I have been following his arguments, listening to his debates, reading his books and watching his YouTube-videos for some years now, and I feel they have not been responded to adequately and extensively enough. I haven’t read all his books and I haven’t listened to all his Dividing Line programs, so I’m sure I’ve missed a lot, too, but I believe I know enough about his work in order to address it in a meaningful way.

In this first post I will not deal with any particular arguments James White is fond of propounding. For now I simply wish to state my intention, which is to start a serious but friendly dialog with Mr. White, or at least with his arguments. Although Mr. White dislikes some Catholic apologists, and some Catholic apologists dislike him, I know it is possible to engage in debate with him in a respectful way, as for instance the examples of Mitch Pacwa and some recent Muslim dialog partners demonstrate.

It goes without saying, I am not afraid to provide the link to Mr. White’s website, which is www.aomin.org. I would even recommend downloading some debates from there. The same goes for the YouTube channel. I believe much of White’s materials against other religions such as Islam, the Mormons or the Jehovah’s Witnesses can be used by Catholics as well, and I am thankful for his work in this respect.

I also think that it can be good for convinced Catholics to know some of the better arguments against Catholicism. If one desires to know and serve Truth, one will have to take into account the various opposing convictions that are out there, and the reasons given for them. As White has pointed out on several occasions, we are all fallible people, and one needs to recognize that one’s trust in a particular religion is, at least from a human perspective, a fallible choice. Others might be right, I might be wrong.

Yet, at the same time, there remains the conviction of faith that is believed to be of supernatural origin, which excludes doubt and which perseveres if and until God permits it to. So far I don’t know for sure where the line goes – on the one hand I am working on the basis of Catholic faith, on the other hand I need to recognize the necessity of a critical mind open to correction. For the basic reasons for my Catholic faith, see the page on Why I believe what I believe.

My trust is in Divine Providence, that God knows what he’s doing, and that his reasons are right, even though sometimes hidden and hard to understand. In manus tuas, Pater.

Explore posts in the same categories: James R. White

2 Comments on “James White of Alpha and Omega Ministries”


  1. Emil,

    You make some great points. What I like is your honesty. I am very much impressed by the willingness on the part of Dr. James White to study the source documents of the Catholic Church. Many Catholics I know don’t even do that, nor are they interested either. As you know I work with Robert Sungenis and John Salza, and have just begun working with William Albrecht, and I believe all of them will work on interacting with James White’s arguments on Youtube.

    God Bless your work, Emil.

    AMDG.
    Laurence Gonzaga

  2. Jim Says:

    I don’t believe that White is worthy of the attention you give him, but I’m certain he enjoys it.

    http://pascendi2.websitetoolbox.com/post?id=3581880&highlight=james+white


Leave a Reply

